Lincoln, JFK, Obama and Trump

Eric Lamar
3 min readAug 29, 2022

--

Sunday afternoon at the Lincoln Memorial

August 28, 1963

I spent a couple of hours at the Lincoln Memorial yesterday, coincidentally it was the 59th anniversary of MLK’s “I have a Dream” speech, given on the steps there.

As usual, I sat quietly, smiling and holding my sign; most people laughed, gave a “thumbs up” and many wanted a photo of it or with it.

Every once in awhile, a Trump supporter, indignant at free speech, would make a rude comment. I’ve been called loser, creep and asked often who was paying me.

And I’ve been jostled and shoved on the steps so I now stay away from them.

Someone recently told me I needed to have my ass kicked, you may have to get in line for that.

I ignore their nasty words and since they started the conversation, quickly ask them if Barack Obama was born in the United States?

Their foot is firmly in the trap and the steel jaws are slamming shut.

Yesterday’s answers included:

  • “I’m not getting into that”
  • “Don’t know”
  • “I wasn’t there”
  • “Debatable”

With the trap closed and latched, I turn to the assembled 50–100 other folks sitting on the steps and introduce my new friends who don’t know if Barack Obama, two-term president of the United States, was born here.

Now speaking to my captive audience (it’s too hot to get up and move,) I ask if they know who else denies Obama’s citizenship?

Why Donald Trump, of course, pointing out that Trump spent years spreading lies about Obama’s birth and that it’s all about racism.

(I even got some “amens” and huzzahs yesterday making my inner street-corner preacher come briefly alive.)

I asked the guy who answered “I wasn’t there” to the Obama birth question, if Lincoln was born in the U.S. as he wasn’t there either.

The guy who answered “debatable” had a question for me: “Was Lee Harvey Oswald the lone JFK assassin?” thus proving, in one fell swoop, that Trumpers are both racists and conspiracy theorists, but who is surprised at that?

I declined to debate him but like to point out that President Kennedy was at least partially responsible for the murder of Ngo Dinh Diem, South Vietnam’s president, he was shot to death in a U.S. inspired coup greenlighted by JFK.

JFK and brother Bobby were also obsessed with murdering Fidel Castro, president of Cuba, trying unsuccessfully multiple times to have him knocked off.

As Mama once said, “Play with fire, you’re gonna get burned.”

Who killed JFK?

Karmic suicide if you ask me.

Cheers.

--

--